Derbyshire Sports Awards 2010 shortlist is revealed

Some of the county’s best and brightest sporting stars, coaches and volunteers will find out next month if they have won a prestigious prize at the 2010 Derbyshire Sports Awards, sponsored by the University of Derby.

Freestyle moguls skier Ellie Koyander, who competed at the Winter Olympics earlier this year, and world champion clay pigeon shooter Emma Wheeldon are among the finalists for the prestigious event, with both vying for the University of Derby Sportsperson of the Year award.

Great Britain wheelchair basketball players Jon Hall and Maddie Thompson, who play for the men’s and wonen’s senior teams respectively, will compete for the University of Derby Disabled Sportsperson of the Year title, alongside wheelchair fencer Tom Hall-Butcher, who is ranked No.14 in the world for sabre.

Teenage snooker player Hannah Jones, who this year retained the World Ladies Junior title for a third consecutive time, and Emma Erskine, the current European Junior Girl Light Contact Kickboxing Champion, are both shortlisted in the Derby City Council Junior Sportswoman of the Year category.

In the Derby City Council Junior Sportsman of the Year category European Junior Wushu Champion Sam Mak and seven-times British Tumbling Champion Greg Townley are the contenders.

Also hoping to pick up a top prize will be athletics official Chris Cohen and football veteran Tom White, who are the contenders for the Derby Telegraph-sponsored Service to Sport Award.

Others shortlisted include Natalie James from Hilton Harriers Football Club and Cheryl Naylor from Ripley Netball Club, who are both hoping to be named Derbyshire Fire and Rescue Service Community Coach of the Year, and Michelle Coates from Linton Primary School and John Raw from Derby Athletics Club who will go head to head for the Origination Contribution to School Sport award.

Winners will be announced in 12 categories during an awards ceremony at The Roundhouse in Derby on November 12.  

The full list of finalists is below.

District awards ceremonies have been held across the county to determine the finalists that have gone through to the Derbyshire Sports Awards.

As well as the University of Derby, other sponsors of the awards evening include the Derby Telegraph, Derby City Council, Origination, Derbyshire Fire and Rescue Service, Derbyshire 2012, Connexions Derbyshire Limited and Derbyshire County Council.

Ollie Shearer, Sports Development Co-ordinator at the University, said: “The University is committed to nurturing talent and we look forward to celebrating the achievements of the county’s talented sports stars and hard-working coaches and volunteers at the Derbyshire Sports Awards again this year.

“Sporting excellence, achievement and the benefits of sport to health are high on the University’s agenda, and we are working hard to increase the number of students taking part in sport, improve performance and increase opportunities for all.”

University Vice-Chancellor Professor John Coyne, said: “The Derbyshire Sports Awards are a great way to showcase some of the great work that is happening in sport across the county and inspire others to get involved.”

Event organisers Derbyshire Sport, a County Sports Partnership funded by Sport England, resurrected the awards in 2006 in recognition of the importance of paying tribute to the wealth of sporting talent in the county.

Cllr Carol Hart, Chair of Derbyshire Sport, said: “We have a wealth of talented sports performers and dedicated coaches and volunteers in the county, and it is important to recognise the dedication these people show and the contribution that they make.

“My congratulations go to everyone who has made it this far in the awards process and to all the winners and nominees at district level. I wish all the finalists the very best of luck.”

Winners of the Derbyshire Sports Awards could go through to the East Midlands Sports Awards and even to the BBC Sports Personality of the Year Awards.

Details of all the finalists are available on the Derbyshire Sport website

To discuss this further please contact Nikki Sargeson on 01773 571227 or 07900227017 or e-mail


University of Derby Sportsperson of the Year
Ellie Koyander (Derbyshire Dales – Freestyle Moguls Skiing)
Emma Wheeldon (Chesterfield/NE Derbyshire – Clay Pigeon Shooting)

University of Derby Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
Jon Hall (Bolsover - Wheelchair Basketball)
Ton Hall-Butcher (Amber Valley - Wheelchair Fencing)
Maddie Thompson (High Peak - Wheelchair Basketball)

Derby City Council Junior Sportsman of the Year
Sam Mak (Derbyshire Dales – Wushu)
Greg Townley (Amber Valley – Gymnastics)
Derby City Council Junior Sportswoman of the Year
Hannah Jones (Amber Valley – Snooker)
Emma Erskine (Derbyshire Dales – Athletics and Kickboxing)

Derbyshire Fire and Rescue Service Junior Disabled Sportsperson of the Year
Robert Abraham (Amber Valley – Swimming)
Maddie Thompson (High Peak - Wheelchair Basketball)
Derbyshire 2012 Junior Team of the Year
Blackwell and District Young Striders AC U11s (Bolsover – Athletics)
Woodlands School KS3 Girls Badminton team (Derby – Badminton)

Derbyshire County Council Club of the Year
Draycott and Long Eaton Table Tennis Club (Erewash – Table Tennis)
Hilton Harriers FC – (South Derbyshire – Football)

Derbyshire Fire and Rescue Service Community Coach of the Year
Natalie James (South Derbyshire – Football)
Cheryl Naylor (Amber Valley – Netball)

Derbyshire 2012 Performance Coach of the Year
Gary Bradshaw (Chesterfield/NE Derbyshire – Taekwondo)
Gary McCaffery (Derbyshire Dales – Triathlon and Swimming)

Connexions Derbyshire Limited Young Sports Leader/Young Coach of the Year
Rebecca Hinchley (Derbyshire Dales – Various sports)
Oliver Hooper (Chesterfield/NE Derbyshire – Various sports)

Derby Telegraph Service to Sport Award
Chris Cohen (Amber Valley – Athletics)
Tom White (Bolsover – Football)

Origination Contribution to School Sport
Michelle Coates (South Derbyshire – Cricket)
John Raw (Derby – Athletics)

Share this article